Tale of a Foodie

Daily Prompt: Mouths Wide Shut


Food is my guilty pleasure

Boundless energy for the soul

A smorgasbord of selection from heavenly send

Salivating my taste buds; ah, what thou sweet sensation, bittersweet, hint of zest?

This ever longing hunger that never concedes

A drum beating loudly, echoing incessantly

A crashing wave, it’s crests so high

The tempting thoughts of a geisha’s cry

A beggar man once said,

“Give me forty loaves and I will show you the world”

But blasphemy it was

For so called beggar

Was the scornful eye

Not so much I wouldn’t trek

To cuisines far and wide

At least what validated sense has witnessed

Taking control, the omnipresence

Never tried liver and onions but it’s not implausible

Pickled herring, frog legs, cow tongue, marzipan?

Kidney pie, Yorkshire pudding, taffy-loo, crème brûlée?

A fish fresh caught never sought either

The biggest point buck I couldn’t even sear

See, my palette is still quite raw

Having never ventured past usual suspects

But I would never dare say

That I wasn’t open to new choice cuts

These food grains

How irresistibly they intoxicate my mouth

“Brilliantly so,” said the chef

The profound dish of parsley and thyme

Sewn together like the pastiche of wise minds

A foodie so I am

Chasing the invited smells of delicacies

Oh, this of mine can never die

My road to eternal satisfaction

Is still quite open…

Words of a foodie

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

1 thought on “Tale of a Foodie”

All thoughts are welcome

