Success Food

If “failure is the condiment that gives success its flavor” (Truman Capote), how spicy do you like your success stories?


0504 Dogs

Success is a hotdog? Never thought of it like that. I guess I’ve eaten it many times, hoping to find the best one but they are always disappointing to me – there is always another successful story out there that has or is waiting to be written (or eaten) and surely taste better than mine. The condiment called failure, a nasty but delicious mixture of ketchup, mustard, relish, onions, pepper spray, and other unknown substances, flavors this hotdog or hamburger, or whatever, making it taste better. The more failure applied to the success hotdog, the more appetizing it gets, the more likely it is to break free from the pack of bland hotdogs and win everyone over at the annual hotdog judging contest (if there is such a thing).

So like Charlie said, I like my success spicy but not too spicy. His saying has nothing to do with success but you get the point. Too much failure makes me feel depressed and desperate for something to work again but too little failure will leave me with blinders on both sides of my head, unable to have peripheral vision, to see the world in a broader spectrum. Failure helps me become better, to improve myself. Without failure, I am just a gloating, nothing-can-hurt-me, never taking risks kind of guy. Keeping a good ratio of success and failure in my life is what keeps me honest, keeps me afloat in this roughneck, drag me down world. Some of my failures in life include trying to start a business, get a successful YouTube channel going, learning to drive a car, trying to run for class president, failing on my first word in the Spelling Bee (flashback!), and some others that are undoubtedly hiding in the cobwebs of my magnificent library upstairs. These failures are good because they help me realize nothing is easy and I can learn from them, to become better next time. But I don’t want too much failure or I am left feeling hopeless and vulnerable, and surely would not want to try some things again. Until now, I’ll go back to finding the next hotdog or hamburger that has a nice mix of success and failure in it and will keep me satisfied until the good feeling is gone and I have to look for more success food to eat. Hopefully you understand what I’m talking about.

So pick yourself up
Take a deep breath
Dust yourself off
And start all over again

“Pick Yourself Up” – Nat King Cole


Daily Prompt 11/4/14

P.S. I voted today, not that is going to have much of an effect but as I always say, “At least I have a right to vote for whoever I want and don’t have a gun to my head.”

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

All thoughts are welcome

