Something New, Something Fried

Daily Prompt: Final Trio


For the first time, I am writing my blog from a location other than my home state. That’s right, I am in Wisconsin right now, visiting the older sister in Janesville (and many of you probably have never heard of this place). On our rather uneventful trip here, Emily’s iPod touch was connected to the car stereo and playing her set of songs, some I totally liked, others that were “meh”, but the song I probably loved the most during that trip was “Enter Sandman” by Metallica. I found myself singing along to some of the catchy lyrics and tapping my foot along to the uplifting, powerful beat. It’s an oldie (I would say anything older than 20 years qualifies) but still a goodie.

On an unrelated tangent…

There are days when I feel like waking up and making a nice healthy breakfast, complete with my now habitual over easy, fried eggs, two slices of slightly toasted bread topped with peanut butter, a glass of milk, and maybe some sausage or bacon on the side if it is available in our freezer of icy epic proportions (I put a leftover Frosty from Wendy’s in there last night and in the morning it was frozen solid like a rock – I placed it in the fridge to thaw out and will probably be a liquid by the time I get home from Wiscy in three days).

When the meal is prepared, I usually take my plate and head into the living room, using a bar stool as my eating surface. Turning my attention to the flat screen sitting in an entertainment stand about the size of a single bookcase, I always see the same shows on in the morning, the old-time classics on MeTV. Because of our limited number of channels on free antenna television, my television watching is like a bookcase with just a couple books on the shelf that I just keep pulling off, reading, putting back up, and then repeating again (for about three years now).

As I sit there pleasantly enjoying my modest meal, one or both of my cats come up to me, looking up at my food that must seem so much better to them than the old cat food in their dish. They occasionally will try to sniff at the food and have that begging look in their little black eyes. These cats don’t seem to know when they are hungry; they just eat out of pure instinct or whenever there is something juicy dangling in font of them. I occasionally will tease them, waving something tasty in front of them such as an egg, watching Goldie jump up at it, his eyes darting back and forth curiously, while my quick reflexes pull the poultry out of harms way (except for one time when Goldie swatted at the egg and successfully managed to drop it to the floor for a nice snack with Blackie joining in the lapping as well).

It’s days like this that I wish I had more people to converse with, more freedom to explore the world, to meet new and interesting people, join in worthwhile activities, instead of trying to find some sort of inspiration in my walled garden life. Rarely do I move outside the walled garden. Okay, maybe it’s not quite an enclosed garden where I don’t have access to certain things – I have opportunities to reach the high luxuries of life but have not had the means to find ways to reach them. With a very tight budget, getting my hands on the latest greatest technology, seeing movies when they first hit theaters, ordering the best, most expensive item on the menu just is not feasible. That’s what I call my walled garden or rather a garden that has a bunch of doors I have to get through by solving the combination locks in order to progress to freedom. Once I reach the final level, get through the final door, I will be able to live my life with very little restrictions, not have to worry about money, or wondering whether my dreams will stay just that – dreams. That’s the dream – to finally have all my ducks lined up in a row and have my life operating smoothly. To do anything and go anywhere I want because I have worked to make those opportunities possible, to have the financial leeway to do so.

Getting back to something cracked and fried, after I am done with my skimpy breakfast, I usually rinse the dish off in the sink and place it upside down out of a habit that I have gotten into, a sort of pet peeve.

Then there really isn’t much to do except open up my laptop again and either do some more needed brain exercises with my blog writing, edit some footage I took with my video camera, touch up some photos, or check out Facebook or Twitter once in a while, the latter being where I might find something I can contribute to and hopefully have some reciprocation from the Twittersphere, some much needed recognition for the work I put into cramming some great thoughts of mine into 140 characters or less. My thoughts on the #SonyHack? Just cowboy up and release the movie, see if the hackers are really serious about their threats or will be too cowardly to take any action once they realize we aren’t scared of them. Aren’t we the home of the free and the brave after all? Hopefully no one in East Asia is reading this because my front door is always left unlocked…and I’m not home.

0427 Incredible Egg


And after all the time taken to write this, I find out that it didn’t even post to the Daily Prompt grid. Damn pingbacks acting up again.

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

All thoughts are welcome

