Stovetop Chats

These days, it is getting harder and harder to keep up with blogging, because for one I have officially gotten into the groove of making YouTube videos again, cutting away a lot of time from my daily posting. Things are getting more elaborate, more time consuming, I’m getting more adventurous, more creative. This is why I have not posted in the early morning in a long while, letting the hours tick away until the time seems right. So trying to make every post from now on seem like I put the well earned effort into making it shine, not typing up something with haste just to keep my streak alive (which has ended now) takes more willpower and time dedication than ever. The habit of waiting until the final hours of the day to post is not very good, because I find myself cramming in words to meet a pressured deadline.

The thing that is difficult with blogging day in and day out is that my mind seems to “close off” from wanting to write and I basically feel burnt out, out of ideas, not sure where to turn next, the inspiration well running dry. The social part of the experience also starts to fall behind and I lose touch with the community, which turns out to have some bad consequences (losing viewership, likes, comments, etc.).

Which takes me to the prompt:

First of all, I don’t have a fireplace, but if I wanted to chat with someone by a “fire”, the video on Netflix featuring a slowly burning yule log would suffice – but the Christmas music that accompanies might be a little annoying to some. Or, I could just turn on the stove’s gas burner, pull up two chairs, turn off the lights except for that of the oven’s overhead filter, and converse in a secular moment.

I’ve never thought of chatting with anyone beside a fire, real or not, and this does seem like an early 20th century thing that has gone out of style. Franklin D. Roosevelt used to have “Fireside Chats” with people over the radio, aptly named because they used to sit by their roaring hearths, all warm and cozy, taking in FDR’s inspirational messages, words of hope, goals for the country to accomplish. It was a way of connecting with his country, getting to know what they liked, wanted to see happen. I guess if current President Obama wanted to have a “Fireside Chat”, it would happen out on Twitter or Reddit, questions and answers coming back and forth, but it just wouldn’t have the same emotional feeling that comes from soaking in the heat of a burning log and hanging onto every crisp word of the commander in chief.

Someone who would make a great guest by my little stove top fire, and a person I only know on the surface, would be one of my favorite bloggers, Angloswiss (sorry to single you out), whose real name is Pat. I would love to get to know more about her travels in England, what she grew up with, the source of her witty humor, where she got the inspiration for her blog from, and more about her photographic skills. Her blog, Chronicles of An Angloswiss, was actually one of the first blogs I started reading regularly (or when I get the time to). I know she would be able to tell her life story the same way she writes – with elaborate detail, vivid imagery, powerful, outspoken narrative, and always with a tasteful sense of humor. Mr. Swiss would probably be there too, supervising the whole matter, feeding advice into my subject’s ear. And then after meeting and chatting face to face for the first time, I would set her cats down by the stove top fire and get to know them as well – and I would be surprised that they could speak English as well.


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: Fireside Chat

What person whom you don’t know very well in real life — it could be a blogger whose writing you enjoy, a friend you just recently made, etc. — would you like to have over for a long chat in which they tell you their life story?

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

2 thoughts on “Stovetop Chats”

  1. I am honoured and thank you for the compliments. I would love to have a talk with you, but I will not be travelling to the States, although perhaps one day you might decide to do the Europe trip and then you are welcome to visit in Switzerland. Mr. Swiss often tells me that not everyone always understands my humour, so I am glad you do. My photographic skills are more luck than judgement and yes, I often ask Mr. Swiss for his advice. The felines mainly speak meow, but they have taught me a few words since moving in. Once again, many thanks, I like reading your blogs and look forward to following them.

    1. Thank you. I’m glad you appreciate your inclusion in my post (and I hesitated doing this at first since it felt odd and I didn’t know if I was approaching it right). But, yeah, I love your photography and the way you chronicle your life in such great fashion and I picked up on your inclusion of Mr. Swiss in almost every post of yours I read, plus your cats that I spun some humor with. You seem to have a very interesting life which correlates to a very interesting blog. Maybe someday I’ll get a chance to travel overseas, it would be fun to learn about a new country like Switzerland, give me a new look on life.

All thoughts are welcome

