The Asphalt Diaries

early6V

whichway429g

early7ui

I don’t get to travel that much…

Except for two short years in my life, I have basically grown up around or near asphalt and gravel roads. Where I live now, it’s impossible to step outside my house without seeing a drab scene of more homes, shabby grass yards, sidewalk, and boring asphalt. The chance to see what the world truly has to offer is a rare opportunity for me, since I only occasionally get to wander outside my limited “home zone”, an area I’m so used to seeing everyday and cannot seem to escape; no matter when I travel to another faraway state, I always end up coming back to such old scenery, which is nice to see but annoying when nothing has seemed to change after a week away.

But If I had my way, and could travel endlessly (and anywhere), I would love to travel without any set instructions and just arrive somewhere interesting – just pick a spot on the map and go. It’s more fun that way, when events are so unpredictable you can’t wait to see what happens next. I wish I could just drop out of a plane and land in a random place on Earth, whether it be the Amazon rainforest, an alligator infested swamp (just kidding), or even in the middle of the Sahara desert. Like random adventures on Google Earth with just the clothes on my back. Of course, that would be absurd for I would have no idea where to go, would be lost in a strange land and might not know the language. In reality, I have really no say in where the destination is since I’m never the one driving the car or choosing where to go, all of my inputs are basically moot. But if I had the means and the money to travel, there’s no telling where I would end up – the only problem would be finding my way back, to the zone that is like a magnet and always calling me back to its circle of comfort.


Cee’s Which Way Photo Challenge: 2015 Week #17

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Happy Wanderer.”

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

6 thoughts on “The Asphalt Diaries”

All thoughts are welcome

