On the Rocks

Magellanic Penguins

I was born to ride alone
The lone wolf in the desert
Not a word whispered to a fellow
Slimy moving lizard painted yellow

Beside myself, I wouldn’t ask for help
A social anomaly, the comfort of solitary
Choosing to go it alone, the silent buzzing drone
My horse galloping along for all the nights and days
Charging through Problem City, leaving myself amazed

But I was put on the rocks
Caught in a tough spot
Did not know what to do
Got caught in a sandstorm
Praying to just get through
When I fell out my steed
And got left there in ‘Zona
Sweltering in the heat, thinking it was ova

Like a coyote I cried for help
Miles and miles, just a faint dog yelp
When over the horizon came a charging sight
A man on a horse as dark as the night
He asked me if I was alright
I didn’t give me the satisfaction
But said “Help me out”
And so he did
And I rode along
And now knew the song
The one of a friend
The thing I’d been missing for so long


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “I Am a Rock.”

Is it easy for you to ask for help when you need it, or do you prefer to rely only on yourself? Why?

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

2 thoughts on “On the Rocks”

All thoughts are welcome

