Born to Be Wired

PTDC0010

So, I get to write my autobiography today, how wonderful. Why I am being asked to start on page three? Is this some sort of marketing technique to get publishers interested right away? I’ve been around for about 24 years now and that may not seem like a lot to go on in a book, but I have experienced numerous events in my life already.

My life is about as old as the Internet itself, which began in 1989 with the launch of the World Wide Web. I’ve practically grown up with computers, having used my very first computer (Windows 95) when I was about five years old. I may have been born in the 1990s but most of my growing up and becoming aware of the wider world was in the 2000s, which saw the rise of the modern Internet that circles around social media and being given a unique chance to express yourself in ways that weren’t possible before (or at least for me).

Doing something similar that I saw another blogger do, here are some significant things that happened during the early years of my life:

Super Nintendo Entertainment System (SNES) – what kick started my love for video games, essentially. This is the game console I remember my mom playing late at night with us kids, to our utter excitement and anticipation as we watched her peruse through levels of Donkey Kong Country, me holding my breath. DKC was one of the most popular games back then and I remember her playing for many nights (highly addictive) and at the time to me it seemed like a very hard game to beat, especially the end battle against K. Rool. The SNES was released in 1991, but I did not get one until I was about six. It seemed like this was the console of the 90s, until I was introduced to the PlayStation and Nintendo 64 later on.

Windows 98 – my very first home computer was a Hotwheels themed Windows 98 PC. I remember how excited I was to use it as my mom took it out of the box and set it up (well, I did most of the work). At the time, this version of Windows was considered the best thing since sliced bread because of the unique innovations put into it (and the memorable sounds). Drawing pictures in Kid Pix (oh, no!), using a steering wheel and pedals to drive a virtual racing game (that stopped working about a month later), playing the mysterious game of Myst for the first time (I finally beat it in 2011), even learning about the human anatomy through a CD that was included with the computer – everything about my brief time with this computer was amazing.

Cartoon Network – the early part of the 2000s were a time when I was still a kid but beginning to become aware that some things I liked in the past just didn’t interest me anymore. Cartoon Network was a milestone of my childhood. When I first got excited about it in 1999, me, along with my sisters, practically begged our parents to get the package of cable that included that one channel. And how many great memories I have from watching some of the shows from the classic CN era such as Dexter’s Laboratory, Cow & Chicken, Ed, Edd, & Eddy, and the Powerpuff Girls, just to name a few. But after 2003, when I moved away to a new city and new school, cartoons in general just didn’t interest me anymore, do to the fact that I was twelve years old and growing up quick. These days, I have the nostalgia to go back and watch some of those old shows I haven’t seen in a long time and relive the days of pure innocence.

Google – where would the world be without this giant that has basically become synonymous with the Internet? I first heard about the search engine back in 2001 when I was in the fourth grade. There were a number of search engine options my teacher told us we should use for our research project, but even back then this one seemed like the popular choice to use.

YouTube – I think page three of my autobiography is following the tech trend a little too much, but try searching for this word in a pre-2005 Google archive search engine, and you will get absolutely nothing. It’s amazing how I was completely unaware of this site until my sister showed it to me in late 2008, around the time the site really started taking off.

The Berlin Wall comes down – a nontechnical entry that is not just significant to me but to many people in this world, because it brought peace and unity and strengthened ties between the U.S. and Germany. Even though I was a little more than a year old when the demolition of the monstrous divide was finally completed, I remember my parents having actual pieces of the wall in plastic cases that they probably bought at a tourist shop while on vacation in one of the States. Sadly, I don’t know what happened to those cases. They may had gotten mixed in with some trash that was thrown out, no one bothering to look, figuring they weren’t worth much (which is true). It would be great today to have some historical pieces of history in my possession. President Reagan’s famous words, “Mr. Gorbachev, tear down this wall!”, resonate in my mind and mark the eventual reunification of East and West Germany.

Those are just a few things you’ll find about my life on page three. Now I’ll go and try to find where they buried the first two pages, like they did with E.T.


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Early Years.”

Write page three of your autobiography.

This happens to be my 300th post, which if I would have known before I published this and checked my count, I would have published some more special, but I suppose it is special because it’s about me.

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

All thoughts are welcome

