The World Through My Eyes

Landscape

It’s nice to look back and see how far we’ve come and with blogging that is an interesting thing, indeed. Not everyone started off great and may have some traction now while some stormed right out of the gate and haven’t looked back since – your perpetual “superstars”.

My blog’s title was originally just ‘macbofisbil’ in lowercase letters (an aesthetic reason), that acronym that has survived for almost three years now. My tagline was “It’s the story of my life, man”, signifying my attempt to provide a day or week by week account of my adventures. When I started this blog, I used the default WordPress theme given to me for my first two posts and took my blog truly by the reigns and switched to the minimalistic and big text Twenty Thirteen theme. That theme worked out pretty well for me in the months that I used it, motivating me and allowing me to tap into my inner creativity (that may had gone way over the top). Over time though, I realized my blog was starting to fail and becoming quite boring and unfocused, and after months of dismal activity and zero engagement, a change was desperately needed. In August 2014, in order to maybe motivate myself to blog better, I dropped the .wordpress from my domain and then owned my site but I still didn’t have much enthusiasm because blogging seemed like such a difficult thing to partake in. That was when late September 2014 came around.

It was that day in the final weeks of September where I finally hit the consistent posting style that I never had the will to reach before. Along came the Daily Prompt, a wonderful device that I had no idea existed during my first year of blogging, and which opened the doors to a whole new world. It was a godsend, I tell you. With a new theme set (the Twenty Fourteen “magazine” theme) and a fresh start ahead, I had confidence I was going to start using WordPress for real. Shortly after responding to that very first Prompt (which I was a little rusty at), and receiving my very first comment and a number of followers, I decided to change my blog’s title to ‘this is my journey’ in a new approach to refocus my blog around my life and the road I have traveled so far. And the new approach worked, with the last part of September and future months dwarfing my previous run of bloggings views, likes, comments, and followers in comparison.

The World Through My Eyes started sometime in December. I decided to change my previous title to that because it was too narrow focused in my opinion. I chose The World Through My Eyes because of my growing interest in photography and exploring different techniques. I just thought it was a much stronger name and had more opportunity with it. My opinions of the world were an important factor in me choosing that title because I felt I was becoming a more well rounded blogger and would be able to touch on a variety of topics with it, either in just passing form or more detailed. That title has a couple of meanings to it, in fact. It could mean how I look at the world and all the stuff that is happening and how I interpret it in my own words; the pictures I take that describe how I live and attempt to paint my personality; and my struggles living with autism and other disabilities that make me have to take a much different and more difficult approach to moving up in this world, the toughest part being that I can’t drive, having never received my license or even taken my road test, one reason for that being that I have one bad eye that I hardly see out of and makes looking to the side and back of me a struggle.

I think I’m going to keep myself settled with the name of ‘The World Through My Eyes’ because it is a strong and enduring title and just has so much more universal magic to it than simply using my pen name or ‘this is my journey’ which was a little self-centered in my opinion. Oh, and the Sorbet theme I’m using right now is another reason why I want to stick with this name because it complements it so well.


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “All About Me.”

Explain why you chose your blog’s title and what it means to you.

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

All thoughts are welcome

