Summertime in the Rose City

Summer Hangout
Frosty Boy opens annually during the summer in Jackson

It’s summertime here in southern Michigan, so that means a number of things: going to the lake, shaking out the snow white legs, eating ice cream outdoors, and watching a bunch of fringe sports until the real main attraction comes back in the fall. So far this summer, I’ve done every one of those things except the first because I guess we’re too lazy or tired to make the trip to a lake this year.

The real highlight of the summer so far though has been going to a June 9th baseball game at Comerica Park between the Tigers and the Cubs. The stadium sitting just across the street from the Lions’ Ford Field is magnificent and no matter where you are seated you get an excellent view of the game going on the field, as my folks did sitting in the third tier. The Tigers dominated and won the game, but it was Tigers outfielder Rajai Davis’ amazing over the wall robbing catch of a potential home run that I remember the most.

The Rose Parade is an annual tradition here

There was also the Rose Parade in my hometown of Jackson which I got all on video and have yet to do anything with. The 57th incarnation of it. It included around four local marching bands, three floats or cars of Rose pageant queens, two men in superhero costumes (Batman and “Captain Jackson”), one happy go lucky but equally creepy Ronald McDonald character and one marching Monty Python Spam-a-Lot ensemble. It was altogether a wonderful day at the parade, even if I was too old to receive candy from the throwers and gave a potentially free stick of cotton candy I found lying on the ground untouched back to the vendor who supposedly dropped it. There was a cop right across the street from where the cotton candy lay and I obviously didn’t want to look suspicious or fall for some unintentional bait.

Here is an excerpt from the Rose Parade website as to how my city got its nickname:

In 1922 the Town Improvement Society approved the idea of a rose garden for the Ella Sharp Park as a memorial to Ella W. Sharp, the donor of 550 acres of land to the city and the first president of the Town Improvement Society. Society members planted roses and developed the garden, which was dedicated in 1926. Five years later, the rose was chosen as the official flower for Jackson and we became the Rose City.

A pretty straightforward tale that I just found out today.


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “In the Summertime.”

If it’s autumn or winter where you live, what are you most looking forward to doing next summer? If it’s spring or summer where you are, what has been the highlight of the season so far for you?

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

2 thoughts on “Summertime in the Rose City”

  1. Hello. I enjoyed reading your post regarding some cool things you did this past summer. It’s always fun to attend games in person. I’ve been to Comerica Park once (2006) to see the Tigers vs. the White Sox. Being a Sox fan my whole life, you know who I was pulling for, but your Tigers pulled it out! I agree with you that the park is a wonderful place to watch a game. I also enjoyed learning why Jackson is called the Rose City. Interesting history. My son and I stay in Jackson each August for our NASCAR weekend down at MIS. Lots of fun! Best wishes for continued good blogging. 🙂

    1. It’s nice to know that someone shares the same background as and has lived in the same little corner of the world as me! There doesn’t normally look like a whole lot to do around here but if you look closely, you will find some amazing things. I definitely love living in Michigan. Thanks for the heads up on my blogging life. I will definitely continue the good work.

All thoughts are welcome

