Obsoleteville

The floppy disk…a clunky cumbersome
The iPod…had a nice ride
CRT monitors…shed their weight
VCRs…all the days we laughed and cried

Those game cartridges…will miss the blowing
1 hour photo…how I remember the sorting

Noisy dial-up…that nostalgic sound
Polaroid picture…loved to shake it around

They’ve all gone to a land
A land where all inventions eventually rest
Where all the things that have lost purpose
Become fragments of history at the best

But someday people will be obsolete
Being replaced by mighty machines
Will be fragments of yourself
That used to cook and clean


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Going Obsolete.”

Of all the technologies that have gone extinct in your lifetime, which one do you miss the most?

If I had to answer that honestly, I would say I miss the Polaroid camera the most, because it reminds me of my grandma who absolutely loved the device, but in fact I have a place in my heart for all the tech that has gone extinct or is getting there (Apple’s iPod being replaced by all-in-one smartphones and other more convenient devices), most of it going to Obsoleteville before I even turned 14. I expect music CDs to be joining the lineup in the near future – I don’t think I’ve bought one in nearly 10 years.

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

2 thoughts on “Obsoleteville”

All thoughts are welcome

