Back to 2005

Write a letter to your 14-year-old self. Tomorrow, write a letter to yourself in 20 years.

The good people of 2005

It seems like it, but it was not that long ago that I was 14. 2005. The year I finally returned to my hometown after being away for about two years in a strange city. The year YouTube started, though I wouldn’t find out about it until late 2008 when my oldest sister showed me a video of two nerds microwaving tin foil (YouTube was simple back then). It was also the year Hurricane Katrina swallowed up the streets of New Orleans. The president was George W. Bush in his second term, though why America elected the bumbling fool again is beyond me. They misunderestimated John Kerry. Pope John Paul II died as well as other famous figures including Rosa Parks and Richard Pryor.

I was a gangly teenager with severe acne, anxiety, and an overall fear of girls. I started 2005 as a 13 year old in the seventh grade at West Middle School in Ypsilanti and in September moved to Spring Arbor and back into the Western School District where I started eighth grade around the third week. Still in the rough transition of adolescence, I found life to be somewhat cruel and unbearable, especially when kids would make thinly veiled remarks about me. It didn’t help that I had low self-esteem already.

Dear 14-year old self,

Hey, you. It’s you from the future in 2015. Shocking, I know. How’s 2005 going? Enjoying 8th grade so far? Are the kids still looking at you like you’re an alien? Do you want to wipe the smug grins off those spoiled, rich kids faces by smacking them up a little? No, don’t do that.

Did you know there’s a site called YouTube you should check out? It started in February. Now is the time to get on there and start a channel because it is relativity new with little competition. “Me at the zoo” – an example of what you’ll find there.

You’ll be graduating high school in five years, believe it or not, so I would advise you to start looking for colleges to go to right now as well as scholarship opportunities. You’ll thank yourself later on for doing so. I, which is you, graduated from college in 2014, but it wasn’t from anywhere prestigious, I’m just saying.

You’ll also love being a little smarter and aware of things in 2015. By that time, this thing called the Internet is going to be SO huge, a fledging generation of online stars and other lore making the headlines. You may have heard of this a couple times and may be more than surprised to know you have started a blog in 2013, that has close to 300 followers as I am writing this. My word of advise: try to post something everyday, but make sure it’s good. What you had for dinner last night does not go very well.

Gay marriage has been legalized in 2015. Yeah! But is still being shunned in many parts.

Oh, but there’s not only YouTube you should worry about. But other go-to sites on the net such as Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Flickr, Vine, and Google +, just to name a few. Facebook started in 2004, though you wouldn’t have known about it since it was only on Ivy League campuses. There was also something called MySpace, which isn’t even worth talking about…

So you still don’t have a phone in 2005. Where are you man? Well, I think you’ll be more than surprised to know that that flip phone you have been dreaming about will be nothing compared to the iPhone coming out in two years followed by an army of clones and competitive 1 uppers. And no, an iPad is not a feminine hygiene product. What’s an iPhone and an iPad? Let’s just say overpriced pieces of brilliance from the makers of the Macintosh computer and iPod. Yes, that one. What’s an iPod? Another name for an mp3 player – soon to be rendered unnecessary by smartphones by 2015.

Hey, you lazy bum, you really need to get into sports. Try out for the basketball team. Do something that makes you less lonely and prone to be outcasted. I’m pretty sure you can compete with those puny eighth graders. If it isn’t basketball then try to find something you are interested in that the school offers. An afterschool activity would do you wonders.

Don’t buy a Windows 8.1 Toshiba laptop in 2014. It just has too many problems randomly restarting and going into a virtual computer coma. What’s Windows 8? An operating system by Microsoft that was released in 2012 that many people hated for its clunky interface, hybrid desktop/tablet set up. 8.1 is the attempt to satisfy those angered by bringing back a Start button (yes, it won’t always be there), but still falls short. You’ll love Windows 10, though.

Ten years from now, you will walk into a library to work on your blog from your laptop, hopefully not that crappy one I told you not to get… The Internet is out at home, so you’re forced to use the library’s Wi-Fi. Look for me sitting in a chair in the back corner. I’ll have on a green shirt and white driving cap – just like you.

Sincerely,

Your Future Self in 2015

Tomorrow I’m to write a letter to myself in 20 years. I will be 44. Hopefully I will have a career, wife, and house by then. I have no idea what this blog will look like in 20 years – if I even keep it going that long.


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “From You to You.”

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

6 thoughts on “Back to 2005”

  1. Ahh, so many things. Hopefully your 14 year young self will not lose it 🙂 ~ I enjoyed reading it. And smiled alongside. 🙂

All thoughts are welcome

