The Power of Bryan Adams

The number one song on my birthday all those years ago was (Everything I Do) I Do It For You by Canadian singer Bryan Adams, one of my favorite songs of all time. The power and soulfulness packed into this track is so great, so demanding to the listener. When I listen to this, I have to stop everything I’m doing to really understand the sacrifices Adams is willing to give for his better half, most likely his wife. He’ll even go as far as dying to protect her, showing how much love he has. That’s a great man. Just as long as she appreciates it as well 🙂 There is a four-minute version for radio and a longer six-minute version that features Adams shredding sweet guitar licks at the end which I definitely enjoy.

Bryan Adams has produced a number of other great hits including Please Forgive Me, Summer of 69, and Have You Ever Really Loved A Woman? All of them have shaped the person I am today, giving me spiritual guidance and motivation in life, inspiring me to go to college and even start a blog for instance.

These are songs that always played on the radio when I was traveling in my mom’s van when I was five or six years old, during the peak of Adams’ singing career. I instantly fell in love with Bryan Adams’ voice (though I never knew it was him singing the songs or even who he was, thought it was an old crooner singing). It had just the right amount of sorrow and pain mixed in it, the way it could project that broken-hearted feeling even on me as a young child. Similar to Rod Stewart. That gravelly mannish voice. Also like John (Cougar) Mellencamp. I like songs that speak to me personally, that can relate to key events in my life. I have a flair for the deep dark messages.

“Please Forgive Me” was always a song about infidelity to me, and I had images of a man coming home late at night after having another affair with a woman. He sees his wife and there is a sad distance between them, the iciness so thick. The guy wants to seek forgiveness for his selfish actions but the woman is already set on leaving him. Of course, that’s probably not what the song was about but the overall darkness of it lead me to believe that.

1991’s Robin: The Prince of Thieves used “Everything I Do” as the leading song. I’ve never seen that film (I was doing other things back in 1991) but I’m sure it including the song was one of the reasons Adams’ career exploded and touched so many lives.

I feel sorry for kids being born in the 2010s. The hit songs on their birthday are likely Tik Tok, Party Rock Anthem, Wrecking Ball, Gangnam Style, Baby, and other songs that really have no sense to them. I feel fortunate to be born in a time when music was still original and not produced by Auto-Tune or the overuse of digital effects. I’m not saying music is bad these days but my ears seem to have picked up the repetitiveness in many modern tracks. All pop songs are made up of 4 basic chords just rearranged, something I heard on 60 Minutes but probably knew already.

Bryan Adams songs speak for humanity. They are passionate. Gritty. Real. Speak from the heart. The hard edge sound of rock with roots of country living. His songs are for the common folk, for the war heroes, for the doctors, for the construction workers. Even though he’s from Canada, his songs have the American spirit within them. “Summer of ’69” could not be any less American, speaking of the ideal American Dream that many want to reach and the detours that usually come about.

Bryan Adams is also a humanitarian and has given back to the community though various charity concerts, raising millions of dollars for important causes. His foundation, The Bryan Adams Foundation, is all about giving young people worldwide the equal opportunity to receive not just an education, but a quality one. That’s something I love about a musical artist. Someone who’s not just in it for the money or fame but wants to make the world a better place.

Thank you, Canada, for such a great artist and inspirational person.


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Your Number One.”

What was the #1 song when you were born? (not sure? you can find out here.) Write about how the song relates (or not!) to your personality.

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

1 thought on “The Power of Bryan Adams”

All thoughts are welcome

