Thoughts On…Changes

Google has just released a new logo after nearly twenty years. That’s big news. And I have mixed feelings. The first time I saw it after going to Google on my smartphone, I was very excited. “Google changed their logo? Wow!” I exclaimed. But then I began to miss old “Catull” as is the name of the font in the original logo, seeing the simplification as a bit underwhelming and quite unnecessary.

If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. The previous Google logo was great. It had that professional, sharp quality about it, a mix of an authoritative source and fun-minded presence. It presented a company that is dedicated to producing quality technology. This new one looks quite childish and more fit for a baby’s clothing line. Maybe I’ll get used to it after a while, but for now it’s just not sinking in. I like a logo I can feast on.  What once was a logo I could trust has now turned into something less confident. But maybe I’m just overreacting. It’s actually not that bad when I look at it a couple more times.

Meanwhile, Facebook’s new logo is nothing compared to its previous:

I was really disappointed after seeing this a few week ago. The old logo was unique. The rounded letters, dropkick “a”, iconic Klavika font, heavy, strong, solid, all added up to the personality of Facebook. This new one is just “blah”, like using the default font in Word.

Actually, the new one has some similarity with all the letters except the “a”, looking less college campus like, where FB was born. But it still is a boring logo script, very uninspiring and generic. Maybe if I never paid much attention to the logo, I wouldn’t care, but I do and my eyes aren’t loving it.

Microsoft’s is better than its previous, more bolder corporate looking mark. At least that funny slice in the middle is gone. It looked like a Pac-Man character eating the tail of the “S”.

Yahoo! did an okay job of making their logo look less like the goofy early 90s “Harry Potter” font.

But a survey of 422 did not agree. I do though. I think it is more professional looking and reminiscent of a website that offers news and relevant search options and looks less gaudy on the page than “Harry Potter” Yahoo. Something that can be taken seriously by competitors and investors. It’s much better than the other 29 options that they were choosing from.

And eBay. Oh, man. This is one I’m absolutely glad got changed a few years ago.

That previous one was so goofy looking and from eBay’s early days when they were just an auction site and not really that huge yet. But they did get big, real big, and so a more professional and cleaner look was needed. And I love it. I am more confident shopping for items on eBay under this aligned logo than before with the crazy overlapping letters, that just spoke of random junk people were trying to sell and still are. And does it remind you of another logo perhaps? If you thought “Google” you are correct! Same color scheme of blue, red, yellow, and green with a friendly sans-serif font. My theory? Google and eBay are secretly working together to bring down Amazon. Google changed their logo to look similar to eBay. Maybe there’s a merger in the works? I’m sure Google will be the one to eat up the other, if the FCC allows it.

That’s just my thoughts.

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

4 thoughts on “Thoughts On…Changes”

  1. I’m mixed about the google logo change as well and I agree it does feel more childish. Still give it a few months and I probably won’t even remember the old logo.

All thoughts are welcome

