Dancing Like I’m 18 Again

Dancing with all the kids
Like it was just yesterday
Doing the Cha Cha slide
Like they did at my high school arrays
Those moves, the sound, the energy
Electricity pumped through my veins
I was alive
I was cool
I was young and happy, so full of yeah
A burden of adulthood
Lifted off my shoulders
Then the fireworks started up
It was truly spectacular, the fizz and smolder
I watched in awe
As they shot off
On that July 4th night
Celebrating my country
Celebrating us
Celebrating me
Very rarely
Will this ever
Happen again
But I savored the moment
As 18 pulls away
And I advance
Toward the
Inevitable future


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Young and the Rested.”

When was the last time you felt truly rejuvenated and energized? What made you feel that way?

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

All thoughts are welcome

