Crazy Association

So I was going to write a post about football in the NFL starting up again, and it is a crazy association. There is always controversy going around in the league with cheating, murders, marital abuse, rogue officiating, and more but the blood is always cleaned up nicely by Goodell and co. The fact that they let Adrian Peterson back into the league after he brutally beat his four year old son with a tree branch (switch, it was called) last year and the league and fans are cheering for him like he’s a great guy is very awful. It was even worse than Ray Rice hitting his wife in the elevator and he’s still not back in the league. Michael Vick came back after serving a lengthy sentence given to him after his dog fighting scandal (Doggate, I’ll call it, going with the usual naming of scandals with the -gate on the end) and he is still trying to find a team that he can succeed with, his short time with the Eagles putting up question marks in my book. Adrian Peterson served his time, but I’m not going to cheer for him or wear his jersey anytime soon.

Fantasy football is back. Yeah! And I’m most likely going to lose my first game today since my offensive players didn’t do much at all, Sammy Watkins getting a 0.  It sucks losing to a guy who had a player active on his roster that is currently suspended, Le’Veon Bell for the Steelers. My opponent just had a better day than me overall. I’m also playing DraftKings and have put in $25 to play two contests, one being free with my deposit, the other costing $3. I know I don’t have much of a chance against some of the more seasoned veterans of this get rich quick game but I almost had to give into the pressure of playing after seeing the commercials play over and over again on TV during games, conjuring up false hopes of getting rich all around. This is not wasteful money, this is trying money, money I’m putting into trying something new, trying to better my life I guess. I’ll be very careful not to spend more than I can afford and if I do start developing a problem, LOOK OUT, I’ll be heading to Gamblers USA in no time.

My Detroit Lions lost today to the San Diego Chargers. Waah 😦 They had a big lead but the offense stuttered and the defense became very porous, allowing the Chargers to quickly score touchdowns and take the lead for good. The Lions got a quick touchdown from Matt Stafford’s arm with about one minute to go to cut the lead to one score and tried an onside kick (for non-US bloggers, that is when the kicker squib kicks the ball and has it go at least ten yards, trying to get his team on one side to recover it while the team on the other side scrambles for it as well) but failed with it bouncing off a Chargers hand and going out of bounds, ball going to the opposition. My uncle was disappointed, I was disappointed, a whole fanbase of hopeful Lions fans were disappointed, many of them jumping off the bandwagon before the season even gets going. So they’re 0-1 and fans are saying “shades of 0-16” again and getting out the paper bags. Shame on you. The team’s still in it, they just have to clear some things up on defense and not fall apart on offense. Newcomer Ameer Abdullah had a magnificent debut, getting almost 100 total yards of offense with a touchdown and he looks promising if he can stay healthy. The Lions haven’t had a running back since Barry Sanders that has broken out and become a star, and I won’t believe this guy can do that until he can stay in the league for at least 5 years.

American football is a crazy game and has some of the craziest and most loyal fans around. Watching your team every Sunday, and sometimes on Monday, Thursday, and Saturday going to war against another team is a huge event. Every game is like a chapter in a book, a story being written and going all the way to the Super Bowl in February. For some teams, the book ends early and goes on the shelf with the rest of the volumes in the team’s history. For others, there are bonus chapters followed by an epilogue explaining how that team won it all and had the best year of their life.

Super Bowl 50 is this year. I still don’t know who will lead the halftime show but Bruno Mars is rumored to perform again. I guess it wouldn’t be that bad if he performed for the second time in three years, since his last appearance was magnificent and overally charismatic, hitting those drums like a chimpanzee.

I was betting on Taylor Swift to perform this year but maybe negotiations didn’t go through with her and she declined. She’s very particular and probably thought the idea of doing a football halftime show was “cheesy”. That’s what I think, who knows what she was thinking.

So here’s to football, beer, cheerleaders, fantasy football, ups and downs, and everything else in between. It’s going to be a great season. See you in February.


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Fun Platform.”

Inspired by JNW topic generator

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

All thoughts are welcome

