Humble Bumble

I like to say my home is a humble and nice place to live in. It’s nothing that special, being in a sea of mostly identical homes, but there are some daily pleasures that keep it from being a soulless shell and keep me in high spirits.

The Futon – Basically the centerpiece furniture, right in front of the TV. Where I wake up and blog everyday. Soft, comfortable, luxurious, and an eater of all possessions. I find myself taking my socks on and off, feeling so lazy and relaxed. My place of inspiration. I’m thinking about creating a new a blog and calling it something like “The Futon Chronicles” or “Life from the Futon”.

Futon photo futon_zpsbl94h6zx.jpg

Electric organ – Even though I haven’t played it in months, it’s a nice addition and gives the house a classier look, for what it’s worth. Right now it acts as a junk collector, gathering dust. No one in the family is really musically inclined or even interested in music, which is why the organ is becoming another useless piece of furniture. I tried learning to play the organ, tried learning simple songs from a children’s beginner book, but gave up after realizing it wasn’t going to take me anywhere.

Flat screen TV – Best thing to come out of my free college money. Most likely wouldn’t have bought a new TV without that free money but would have still been using a fat and heavy CRT. There are only ten channels that appear on that TV through an antenna. The alternative is Netflix and YouTube through the Blu-ray player, which has much more variety and freedom from the same stuff everyday. Stephen Colbert is great though. Great work, CBS, getting this fresh and humorous comedian to replace the stale Letterman.

Fridge – I must open this 20 times a day, hoping to find something new but it’s always the same bare essentials.

Posters – I’m collecting one every couple days, trying to make my abandoned room look more colorful and fun. Covering up all the bare walls and making the room an adventure to walk into everyday is a crazy goal of mine.

My dream home would be one resting by the lake. I would love to have a boat to ride out on every day for a day of relaxation, sightseeing, and maybe fishing for large mouth bass and shrimp. Of course, I wouldn’t find living in an apartment in New York City either, hearing the cars and people being restless all night while I lie awake in my bed five stories up staring up at the moonlight being cast on the ceiling. There’s something about the noises in the dead of the end that make me have some real vivid dreams.


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Home Turf.”

Name five things in your house that make it a home.

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

2 thoughts on “Humble Bumble”

All thoughts are welcome

