Unfollowphobia

Blogging effectively is a shaky practice. It is hard to not slip up once in a while and totally have a nightmare day. If you’re like me and still learning the ropes, committing these errors are bound to happen sometime. I’ve gone down the dark road a number of times and had to fight my way back. Well, I’m here to advise you on what you should avoid to ensure your pretty group of followers, whether it is 50, 100, 500, 1000, or 10,000, stay with you until, well, until you eventually give up on blogging…or die – and the blog becomes an historical artifact on the internet. I’m no expert with less than 400 followers but I can give some tips based off past experiences:

  1. Too many changes 

People want consistency. They want to have a way to identify you and get used to you. Changing things like the blog title and theme too many times are sure ways to put mistrust into a fellow follower. I’ve changed my look and feel over the past year, trying to find the image that I wanted to convey, which is fun but still with an edge of seriousness. I’ve tried to be content with what I’ve got but some impulse inside always gets me excited about making changes, which is why I’ve shied away a number of bloggers. If you want to change something, think it over carefully before committing. Keep it simple and not too over the top as well. Don’t change the meaning of your blog if you already have posts that fit the meaning, like doing a poetry blog and then all of a sudden making it look all high tech with computer imagery.

2. Too unfocused 

I still suffer from this because I have a dream of making my blog into a buffet of topics, all of them scrupulously crafted and full of detail. But in the land of blogs, niche is king. Having a niche (pronounced like “ditch”) helps bloggers know what to expect instead of the blog being all over the place. They can trust that you know the topic well and will be able to follow up on it. But I think being too niche can restrict your development and creativity, as well as losing out on potential followers.

3. Spamming 

“Check out this site for free lotion!” “Earn $1000 dollars a day by working at home!” “Check out my blog at…where I discuss why I’m so in love with the Kardashians!” Yeah, it’s just a bad practice and can make you look like you only read the blogger’s post to self promote yourself or something, making you look like a business instead of an actual human. It gives you bad rep. If you have something good to say, say it, but don’t force a comment just to link one to your blog.

4. Too restrictive on commenting 

I’ve heard about the “Word Verification” option on WordPress. It’s to check and filter out potentially offensive or suggestive words from comments. Well, having it on can restrict conversations if every word has to be checked before it gets posted. I’ve never seen this been used, supposedly because I never swear in the comment section! Just don’t do it because it causes a delay – like I really know how it works.

5. Too hateful, boring, or depressive

I try to keep my voice consistent and put a little bit of humor into my writing, but there are times when it’s not appropriate to be funny, especially when writing about tragedies. Sometimes I just feel down and unable to write anything funny. It’s ok to write seriously and rant like a fire demon, but doing it too much can really be a turn off.

6. Not posting frequently enough or posting too much 

The people that post the least, sometimes going months without a single post, are the people that I usually end up cutting when it’s time to clean house. I like to have active bloggers in my circle, ones that I can consistently check out and get to know. Not posting makes me lose interest and have no point in following the blog anymore. There are exceptions such as if the blog is really good but the person is just telling us that they have a life… You can get away with posting too much but if none of those posts are effective or interesting, or are just annoying, the unfollow button is like a magnet that will attract the reader. I know because I’ve done it.

I’ve been the victim of losing blog followers in the past. Reasons for the unfollows are not made clear but I can pinpoint a few things that might have prompted someone to hit the unfollow button:

A really crumby post that is totally embarrassing and also pointless. Doing No Shave November last year and other posts about growing beards, with pictures, didn’t exactly capture people’s fancy and I lost a couple of followers.

I always have a fear that most of my followers will give up on me. Either because I can be too depressing, boring, or silly sometimes, or because I’m always so unfocused. I also have the fear that if I ever stopped blogging for a number of days, that some followers would be gone. I’ve got a lot of good content to keep that from happening but nothing lasts forever. I’ve worked so hard to put together my little community. Going backwards now would be devastating.


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Must Not Fail.”

What is the one thing at which you are the most afraid of failing?

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

8 thoughts on “Unfollowphobia”

  1. Great advice. These are all things I’m still trying to juggle and work out.
    The issue of focus actually lead me into breaking my blog into three blogs to give each its own clear focus/aim, that’s one way to deal with the focus issue if you want to write on some very different topics.

    1. Yes. I’ve always wanted to dive into technology but the majority of my blog is photography and poetry, so it wouldn’t fit in vry well with my current audience. I can always create new blogs and link them up to this one through links in the bar up top, making this like a hub for all things me.

  2. Blogging can be fickle I agree. I have decided my main reason for blogging is for “me”, so if I am true to my own voice and what I would like to say, then it is a privilege to have others share in that. As for your blog, I will keep on following, you share pretty inoffensive stuff, that’s the main reason I would unfollow – if there was reason to offend.

    1. I know, I’m very cool and mild because there isn’t much rage in my heart. If I ever want to be that, I’ll start a new blog for it, probably called MacRants or something. I want to be unrestricted and say whatever’s on my mind. This is the blog about my life, my thoughts coming out but in an appropriate way.

      And I’ll continue following you! No need to worry about that.

All thoughts are welcome

