Code Is Poetry

From the greatest websites
To the greatest video games
To the killer phone apps
To some of the most recognizable names
It’s the ones and zeros of the computer world
That guide our civilization today
Everyone but Amish is quite far from the Stone Age
I’ve dove in and got a first hand look
And what is the idea of this seemingly gobble-de-gook
And I’ve come to learn it’s a masterful art
Like Leopold Stokowski leading an orchestra
Every piece has a special part
My head may have been swimming
When it came to Java and PHP
But then I think of Mark Zuckerberg
And think “That could be me!”
If I ever learn to program well
The sky’s the limit for me
Facebook, Google, Microsoft
My newly found passion will proudly set me free

Besides the forever difficult task of learning to code, there are a couple things I dream of mastering:

  • Playing the guitar
  • Learning a new, important, language (besides Klingon)
  • Cooking
  • Photography
  • YouTube
  • Drawing and Photoshop
  • Talking to women – it comes in handy

Stopping me from mastering these skills is a combination of my laziness, impatience, feelings of discouragement, and the overall thought of “What’s the point?” Why should I waste my time trying to master these skills when there are so many other things out there that are more important? Well, isn’t that the whole point of learning something new – the more time and effort put into it, the richer the rewards that come out? And if it’s your passion why shouldn’t you strive to make it into something that becomes more than just a hobby but a key component of your life?

I got the title for my post today from the phrase found on the WordPress.org support page. Last year I was learning to design my own webpages and got really good at it, even diving into complicated languages like jQuery and PHP. But now it’s been a long time and I’ve lost the initial passion to write code, creating a website for my business one of the main reasons I took to it, and now that that tanked, there really isn’t much incentive to learn code now. Maybe if I was trying to get a job or creating the next best app, mostly just for fun.


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Lazy Learners.”

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

5 thoughts on “Code Is Poetry”

  1. It all comes in time. I liked learning to draw Woody Woodpecker when I was young, but drawing never developed into a passion as much as I sit and want it to. Another is poetry. In the meantime, I love taking pictures and post-processing in Photoshop. I’ll take that. If your talent is writing code, revel in it!

All thoughts are welcome

