Reveal Yourself

MAC

This blog started off in one of the weirdest ways and without that I probably wouldn’t even be blogging right now. That was the last thing on my mind at 21 years old, living and breathing the dream of becoming great on YouTube, but somehow I was led here and am still here today – unimaginable but it’s true.

It began after I had created a new YouTube channel in 2012 called MACBOFISBILtv, slated to be a vlog type kind of channel featuring events from my life (so exciting…), along with other videos on gaming, tech, music, news, and more. The original words that I chose to create that clever acronym that is now the address everyone sees in the omnibox were: My Awesome Crazy Brilliant Outrageous Fantastic Incredible Super But Irrelevant Life. Of course those words have changed now because I have changed, choosing words that better reflect me as well as what this blog is about.

I thought it was kind of cool and interesting, even if it was a mouthful and didn’t really describe my life, and it gave me hope that I could finally make something successful. But I never really got going on doing any on that channel (one video to date), and eventually gave up on the idea.

Now, I when I started this blog in 2013, exhausted from making videos that turned out so bad and wanting a new outlet, I had no idea how a blog was supposed to look or what I was even going to write about, but I just started writing, mostly about whatever was on my mind. I did not do the Daily Prompt from the beginning because I didn’t know it existed. I didn’t even know a whole community of other bloggers existed until I found and followed a random photoblogger one day (or night, I don’t remember) and was blown away by their superb quality of pictures and writing, immediately making me look at my own self and realize just how far I was off. I’m not that far off now, liking to say I have arrived in a cozy area where I can express myself more confidently, but I would never say I am the best at anything, just because there are more superior bloggers that have thousands of readers everyday while I get 20 or 30 at most. That’s great for me, a budding writer who doesn’t have anything to prove, but if I could someday reach a new plateau, a new inspiration, I would be even more confident in making this daily ritual of mine a lifelong career – an implausible goal as of now.

This theme I have had for almost a year, Sorbet, is one that I will likely have for a long time, since it is so clean and simple and allows for pictures to get their proper attention, as well as the writing having centerstage.

Whatever secondary name I give to my blog, it has really brought a side of me that I always thought was vague and undeveloped: my writing. This is my journey, the world through my eyes, the story of my life, laying down my thoughts in the form of bricks, forming a grand structure one piece at a time. Looking back at me now, this blog is a mirror of what I have accomplished so far, of what I have done. It is my past, present, and future.


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Mirror, Mirror, On the Wall.”

Think of your blog as a mirror: what does it reveal? Consider your blog name, theme choice, design, bio, posts… what does every element tell you about yourself?

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

All thoughts are welcome

