On A San Diego Beach…

The crystal ball will reveal itself

Tomorrow’s just your future yesterday. Your future is being written all the time; when you were six years old in a past present time, you probably wondered what your 25 year old self would be like in the future, and then that day comes and it is the present and you are still wondering about the future. The future never comes, we are merely walking toward it every minute of the day while still being tied to the present which is always becoming the past.

Some of the bricks to that always nearing future I’m building have already been put in place. I’ve been to college, four years of it shared between two schools, and graduated with an Associate degree which is better than no degree. I was going to go back, maybe get into culinary school to get some much needed training for restaurant jobs, but the thought seems to be slipping away and I haven’t even gotten my application in, let alone a dorm plan, by the time the new semester begins. Now I have student loans to pay back that are overdue and taking a hit to my credit score I had no idea existed until now. Great Lakes, the loan provider, expects me to pay them back, but I still haven’t even found a job and my modest amount of cash from plasma sure isn’t going to cut it.

I’ve started a blog/website and am continuing to work on it, developing some savvy writing skills and getting in touch with my inner self. I have found a way to exorcise my demons, a way to get rid of the doubts and find my true passion. I’ve found new and innovative ways to show off my creative skills, which can sometimes be a little misunderstood and rough around the edges.

I always knew I had a budding writing talent within but until now, there didn’t seem to be any viable career path for it. Sure, I was good at writing school essays and organizing my info into nice little paragraphs, but if anyone told me I’d be sitting here today writing down my personal thoughts and trying to tell a story, I’d say they were crazy. I would have thought it would be very boring and tedious, not to mention lonely because I’d most likely have no help since no one close to me would have any knowledge or interest in blog writing. Even I didn’t at first, trying my hand at YouTube before ending up here. Now fast forwarding a few years after high school and to this point in time has taught me that hobbies and interests sometimes like to develop overtime and will surprise you.

If I could go into the future like my heroes Marty McFly and Doc Brown, past their poorly predicted 2015, I would be curious to see how far I have gotten with blogging and if anything successful has come out of it, like a book or even a sitcom. I’d be very excited and surprised to see that gleaming Freshly Pressed badge displayed somewhere and telling me that what I have done has a real purpose to it, like putting a bow on a present, but as of now I keep those expectations way on the down low.

Of course, I wouldn’t want to see myself working at McDonald’s 30 years down the road which isn’t likely since they don’t usually hire anyone above the age of 30 or with any career goals, but if hard times fall on me and that is a crucial option, I’ll meet it with open arms.

I’d like to see if I’m married or not and where I am living. I’d hope my eventual high paying engineering job would get me a house in Florida or at least by a lake with a pontoon.

I’d like to finally have a driver’s license and be able to have the freedom of the road.

I’d like to be relaxing on a beach in California, having officially retired from whatever I have been doing for the last couple of decades.

I’d like to have become a world class writer and have a number of books published. I’d like to have my work featured on multiple websites and TV.

I’m more curious to see how technology will have progressed. What will the Internet look like? Will Google have finally taken over the entire web, dominating our lives in every way possible? How huge will YouTube have become by the time the 50th U.S. president is elected? Will PewDiePie still be on top, eventually having enough power to split off into his own rival video site, PewTube (not the church’s version) all of his “Bros” helping to finally take over the Internet?

It’s interesting to know what I and the world around me is going to become. All I can say now is that I’m happy I have a place to live and my parents who still love and care about me. When they are gone, I will be a little sad and might have difficulty adjusting to the sudden responsibility put on me and life’s downward spiral that would totally ensue, but I know I’d make it through because I have perseverance and a strong will. I could do with a little bit of humor everyday to keep me moving and there’s a lot of that to go around.


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Six of One, Half a Dozen of the Other.”

Write a six-word story about what you think the future holds for you, and then expand on it in a post.

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

4 thoughts on “On A San Diego Beach…”

    1. Thank you. Yes, I just found out that I can change the font and colors now. I wasn’t able to do that before when it was part of the premium plan, which it isn’t anymore for some reason.

All thoughts are welcome

