In My Comfort Zone

Reaching out for the stars,

Insecurity starts to fall into my lap,

I’m afraid of leaving too far from my tether,

And facing a tragic drop back down to Earth,

Where dreams are extinguished and

It’s the everyday man labor once again

So best to not extend my reach too much

And raise expectations to an impossible point

Where turning back leaves me humbled as ever

The yearning for more power only resulting in

A smoldering pile of disappointment

As the road to fulfillment is a bumpy pressured filled ride


In Response to Daily Prompt: Safety First 

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

1 thought on “In My Comfort Zone”

  1. I like to think of life as standing on a ladder. You know that you have placed the ladder in the appropriate spot for the task at hand… but the fun comes from reaching as far from the ladder as possible to do all that is possible at that one location. The ‘daring part of life’ is when you know that there is something out there at is just a little farther than you can reach. Many people like to climb done the ladder and re-set it. I prefer to wiggle-walk the ladder onto the next location! Yeah, I know that resetting the ladder is the proper thing to do.. I often do that. But if you have ever wiggle-walked a ladder… an awesome experience!

All thoughts are welcome

