Kicking Off 2016

Last night,
Close to the chime of twelve,
In front of the television,
New York looking swell
Ryan Seacrest counting down,
A crowd of eager eyes,
The champagne out of ice,
Ready for a big surprise
As the final numbers of 2015
Were slowly burned away,
I shook that bottle of Barefoot Bubbly,
Looking for the ultimate par-tay
I popped the top, and it went a plop,
Getting the nearest person wet,
Rop, a bob, bop
What a mess it was,
The contents soaked the floor,
And the whole thing was on video,
Laughs for later in store
Sure, I would love to be in New York, London, or Sydney,
But I suppose the fun in my little home
Is enough to please me
As the hourglass gets flipped,
And the race to December begins again,
There is one thing for certain:
The holidays are never over,
The waiting room we’re in

Now figuratively, I was in a state of awe,
Reflecting on the past year,
All of the drama that ensued and all,
The silent beat in my head of cheer
And I thought of the future,
And what’s next for me,
What’s next for the human race,
What is our ultimate destiny
A mere turn of a page, tick of the clock,
Throws us into a brand new place,
As the last year seems so far lost


Daily Prompt: Stroke of Midnight

Where were you last night at midnight? Would you have wanted to be somewhere else?

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

2 thoughts on “Kicking Off 2016”

All thoughts are welcome

