A Regular Clothes Horse

navyblueFULL
My blue sweater tacked to the wall

My clothes baskets are always full. It’s never the same shirt two days in a row and the dresser and closet tend to go empty before it’s time to get that clothes basket in the washer.

I don’t really have a fashion. I’m just a t-shirt and jeans kind of guy. It’s casual Friday for me all the time, business attire only coming once in a blue moon. My haircut isn’t anything special either, a regular mop of chaos that is always getting messed up as I play with it. I’m basically like I was many years ago though I don’t wear sweaters as much anymore. You can call me a regular clothes horse because I love buying new shirts all the time, with old worn old tees getting thrown out. Novelty shirts are my specialty, shirts with iconic characters or symbols on them. Not too big on sports events shirts because if the team on the shirt loses, the shirt is basically worthless.

I have a fedora and English style driving cap. A hat is a favorite accessory of mine, one I like to wear out in public, looking to impress, maybe the one girl that passes by. I’m very particular about which hats I choose. The hat chooses the head, as Olivander would say, and in the case of my head, a flexible cap is essential.

My favorite kind of torso wear is a button up shirt with one or two pockets in the front. It’s a handsome, professional look and when paired with a rugged pair of jeans, has a way of making me feel smarter than I already am.

The last time I wore a tank top was when I was 12 years old. It barely fit me, being snug around the arm holes. I will always remember the time in third grade when I wore a yellow tank top to school in the dead of winter, because mom had laid it out for me. The teacher had to call her up and ask her to bring in a more appropriate shirt for the day.

Of course I will also always remember the time I was in gym (PE) class and didn’t realize my work out shirt had a gaping hole in the side underneath the sleeve until the teacher told me. I felt embarrassed of course but realized it wasn’t the big of a deal when no one else seemed to notice.

One of the more popular kinds of shoes, the flat bottom Chuck Taylor or Converse, was a style of mine for a brief time in 2008, the year I like to say I transitioned into “the cooler version” of myself, finally listening to music through an iPod and getting in touch with pop culture. Okay, so they were actually Airwalks, a knock-off brand of Converse, but all the same. They felt excellent on my feet, making me feel lighter and able to do some sweet dance moves including the moonwalk. A peer said I looked “fresh”.

A regular pair of denim blue jeans will fit me any day, though I don’t like pants that are too tight (with the exception again in 2008 – my experiment with skinny jeans and being hipster).

I wouldn’t be caught dead with a mohawk or anything close to that craziness. The craziest I’ve gotten with my hair was choosing to get a flattop at eleven years old, because I was tired of the boring buzz cut I had gotten the previous ten years, always picked out by dad. He didn’t mind that I take my head of hair into my own consideration and was very willing to make sure the new kind of haircut I get was okay for me. I probably looked at multiple styles in a book before choosing that flattop, which had a sticky paste feel to it and kind of resembled Frankenstein.

As for the current fashion trends and upcoming ones in 2016, well, I have to say I don’t keep up with it or even want to try. Back in middle school, the style seemed to be Aeropostale and Hollister and I followed suit but then that suddenly fell out of style with me jumping off the wagon as well. I guess it’s just a guess for me at what is considered hip and I’m never going to put too much thought into how a top goes with the bottoms.

Don’t even get me started on the man bun. I don’t know if I could walk around with one of those. I would feel so out of my element.


Daily Prompt: New Sensation

Ah, sweet youth. No matter whether you grew up sporting a fedora, penny loafers, poodle skirts, bell-bottoms, leg-warmers, skinny jeans, Madonna-inspired net shirts and rosaries, goth garb, a spikey mohawk, or even a wave that would put the Bieber to shame, you made a fashion statement, unique to you. Describe your favorite fashions from days of yore or current trends you think are stylin’.

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

2 thoughts on “A Regular Clothes Horse”

  1. You described your attire quite well. Being considerably younger than me… that might have been an advantage. I remember blue jeans and t-shirts. I had a special shirt- or two- my mother hated. I tried to google them. Apparently they were soooo wrong, they don’t exist on google?

All thoughts are welcome

