There Are No Breaks

 

It doesn’t start with a cup of coffee or any routine exercises. It doesn’t start with making phone calls or pre-planning ideas for the day. In fact, I don’t have to do much at all because I’m always logged into WordPress and posts are always open in the browser.

My blog is on my mind most of the day, just hanging out in a corner of my mind, reminding me that it still is important, even if there are other interests that want attention as well, like video making now (so much fun). I always find time for it, along with other priorities in my life. I’ve been doing this for over two years now and I would be lying if I said I never had thoughts of completely giving up on it a couple of times. There are days when I just don’t feel like blogging and have nothing on my mind. There is the trusty Daily Prompt of course, but after doing that for over a year and seeing prompts regurgitated, it does get old after a while. I just have to remind myself of something another blogger mentioned when the going gets tough: writer’s write. That might seem like a redundant and obvious statement but it basically means you can always find something to put down, even if it doesn’t seem like a very good idea at first.

The path to success with anything starts with consistency. You have to practice something over and over in order to become a master at it: instruments, drawing, writing, speaking, film making, even video games.

Blogging is a prison you can’t break free, or at least you shouldn’t. If you do break free, you risk never reentering the ecosystem ever again, and abandoning your blog and any loyal followers. You risk losing interest and the will to write anything anymore. Starting a new blog is always a great idea though, because you can then apply all the things you learned from your first go around and start off on the right foot to success quickly. Gaining a legion of followers again might be difficult but if you find the magic touch again, gaining momentum and a rhythm wouldn’t be hard.

To be an effective blogger, you need to blog nearly every day, or at least a couple times a week. Going on long hiatuses is not a recipe for success. Your followers will want to have faith that they can expect new posts on a regular basis.

To any new bloggers out there, maybe some that are reading this, I have one simple piece of advice for you:

Be Yourself.

Don’t be pressured to be like another blogger who has had success with a certain writing topic or interest such as photography and poetry. Go with what you are most comfortable with but be willing to try new things just to freshen up once in a while. That’s what keeps readers interested and not subjected to boredom.

I believe blogging has been a real personality builder for me. Before this, I didn’t have much of a way to share my thoughts and rewind. I’m more of an introvert, so I have a better time getting my thoughts out on paper (or digital post boxes in this case) than out loud. I tried video blogging (vlogging) for a while but found it difficult to come up with something new all the time and I couldn’t express myself in words very well. It’s also a chore to make the videos and edit everything together (sound quality is SO important). With blogging, there is no need for highly specialized equipment or worries about audio. I am able to easily put my inner thoughts down without any technical problems or worries about the output. Unlike videos, I can go back and edit a post as much as I like, deleting and adding things that I think are necessary. I feel like I can unlock so many other gears with writing than videos because I feel more like myself than a character I try to play to entertain the audience. Writing is pure; videos are flair. They both have their strengths, they both have their weaknesses. To be truly happy, choose the one that you feel most comfortable with.


Give your newer sisters and brothers-in-WordPress one piece of advice based on your experiences blogging.

If you’re a new blogger, what’s one question you’d like to ask other bloggers?

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

3 thoughts on “There Are No Breaks”

  1. Great advice!!! Recently, I have found other pursuits- that are more a waste of great time than anything else- but even wasting of time can be addicting. Hope I become more consistent again!

All thoughts are welcome

