Filling the Void

January

A life without a computer wouldn’t exactly be strange. I’ve gone through it before. Years before I even thought of having a blog or personal video account, life was pretty low key, pretty standard.

Still got the TV. Still got basic cable. Still got the Blu-ray player loaded with Netflix, YouTube, and Pandora Radio, so I wouldn’t be completely cut off. If I didn’t have my laptop, there would still be the local library to go to. I’m not fond of using a desktop anymore but it would work, even if the mobile luxury wouldn’t be there.

The moon and the stars would still be in the sky if my computer wasn’t here. Life would go on as usual. My online life may take a leave of absence but I would still be me, still be the dude with the messy hair and habit of cracking his fingers. Things would be even more quieter than usual. I’d be sitting on this couch of mine right now, just staring ahead at the room, listening to that cat yowl, seeing everything stay pretty much the same.

The life would be less technological and more sociable. I’d get outside more and try to meet other people. Finding a job from home may be difficult but I’m sure I could go to the classifieds and call up numbers.

The last time I had no computer, not even a clunky desktop, was probably sometime in 2009. It was briefly because one relative demanded that we give her our new Windows Vista computer because, quote on quote, “it was mine and you stole it from me”. That was definitely not true. I think she was just jealous that she didn’t have a good computer (an old junky Windows 98) and we did. So for a while, our family used an old junky Windows 98 until mom went and bought the computer that would begin an entirely new generation in my life: Windows 7. It was the first touch screen, all-in-one computer I ever had, and on that computer I discovered many sites that are now the entertainment hubs of the net, one of them being a very different looking YouTube. I started my first channel on there and uploaded my very first video.

Filling the void left by the absence of a computer wouldn’t be that difficult. There are still many things I could do. I’ve got the piano organ and guitars I could play, video games I could kill time on, cookbooks I could get inspired by, magic tricks I could practice. The computer may be the focal point of my existence now but it sure isn’t the only thing to me.

The feature picture is the full moon of January, the first one I will capture for a year long project of moons.

Your life without a computer: what does it look like?

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

7 thoughts on “Filling the Void”

All thoughts are welcome

