This is My Fight Song

Without a doubt, this is my fight song. It roars at me like a lion, but then gently comforts me like a lamb.

“Fight Song” by Rachel Platten is so powerful. I believe it connects with me very deeply, relates to my dreams of landing my dream job, of going places and always climbing a new mountain. The chorus of the song is so intoxicating and just makes me want to move and groove. It grips my heartstrings, motivates me, fuels my happiness and determination to win. There is no more whimpering. It is time to make a move. It is time to live my life.

“I may only have one match, but I can make an explosion”.

I love that line. It means that even if you have virtually nothing to your name, no money, no fame, or power, you can make a difference. By standing up for what you believe in. That was true for African-Americans during the slavery days and during the Civil War, and revolts against the order. The LGBTQ+ movement would have loved to use that line.

The little things you do in life are what matter in the end. You have the power to move boulders through what you say or do. Fighting for a change begins with a lot of small steps and the littlest of people with their one match can make a big surprise.

I can see why this song received so much attention (even a performance before the Pro Bowl). It’s all about having a second chance at life and never giving up. Following your dreams, your passions, taking hold of one more step on the ladder.

I feel like I want to listen to this song at least 50 or 100 more times. It is insanely good. The message within is brilliant. I think I’ll download this song to my phone and go on a run with it (or walk, because running would make me exhausted quickly).

There’s no telling is Rachel Platten will come up with another song to match this or if she will quickly become a one-hit-wonder, but all I can is she went from a complete unknown to making an explosion with this song.


Take a line from a song that you love or connect with. Turn that line into the title of your post.

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

1 thought on “This is My Fight Song”

All thoughts are welcome

