Johnny Depp, the Case File

Seeing that my blog is quite a mix of everything and never has followed a straight path, it would have to be narrated by someone who is essentially a mix of everything, someone whose M.O. cannot simply be defined. Who do I know out there that likes to play many different characters? What person do I know (not personally) who has made a living out of playing so many iconic characters over the years?

How about Johnny Depp? He’s one of the most versatile actors out there, playing anything from a creepy candy factory owner to a badass outlaw by the name of Whitey Bulger. Okay, so not all of his roles were good, some were downright awful (The Lone Ranger). But surely, there are many posts of mine that would fit many of his different characters. Some of the more eccentric, zany installments, those stories and poems that go a little out of left field, would be narrated by his Jack Sparrow character; the posts that are a bit solemn and depressing by the sad Edward Scissorhands; the crazy mad posts by a lunatic Sweeney Todd; the serious, informative posts by Donnie Brasco.

Johnny Depp has a slight British accent (even French in certain movies). even though he is from Kentucky, so I can imagine my audiobook sounding similar to Jim Dale, who narrated the Harry Potter series. It was rumored that he also has some Native American ancestry, but this is likely false.

Why did I choose this actor for my trendy little audiobook coming from a mixed bag blog? Well, he obviously is one of my all time favorite actors (besides Tom Hanks) and I respect all the work that he has done. I couldn’t think of anyone else either so went with the first person that came to mind. It’s tough not even being nominated for Best Actor at the Academy Awards for Black Mass, but I suppose he can live with that anyday. I haven’t seen that movie yet so I can’t really critique it for real. He’s set to burst back onto the mainstream charts when the 5th Pirates movies comes out some time this summer. At this point, I believe they are milking everything they can out of that drawn out franchise for money, but I’ll give the producers props for not ending it with At World’s End because that movie sucked.


Your blog is about to be recorded into an audiobook. If you could choose anyone — from your grandma to Samuel L. Jackson — to narrate your posts, who would it be?

I don’t think I would want to hear my blog read aloud in an audiobook. There are some things that would be too embarrassing and ridiculous sounding. If Johnny Depp wasn’t available to narrate my book, then yes, Samuel L. Jackson would be my next choice.

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

8 thoughts on “Johnny Depp, the Case File”

  1. He played John Dillinger, but who cares, right? No biggie! I love the choice of Johnny Depp!!! It would definitely make for an interesting narration!! Especially if he is allowed to move within the vast number of characters. I would definitely listen to this life story!! Well don4e.

    1. Yes, I know he played John Dillinger in Public Enemies (another movie I haven’t seen of his). I admire the way he can seamlessly get into a character and you can’t tell the difference. I’m going to have to go and watch a couple of his films now to further evaluate myself now.

All thoughts are welcome

