Pick A Name, Any Name

What’s in a name? That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet.

– William Shakespeare

My name is Matthew.

It is Hebrew.

The meaning of the name is: Gift of the Lord.

Am I truly a gift of God? I’ll leave that up to society to decide, but from what amazing talents I have discovered I possess, I definitely wouldn’t doubt it. It sounds pretentious. It reeks of self-importance. A million other guys with this name would wonder as well.

I don’t know what significant reason my parents gave me this name, other than it being from the Bible. It’s a nice common name. Lot’s of famous people bear it:

Matthew McConaughey

Matt Damon

Matthew Perry

Matthew Broderick

Matthew Henson

Matthew Gray Gubler

Matthew Bellamy

Matthew Stafford

The list could go on

Almost everyone that writes down my name for the first time spells it with one “t”, which I find annoying but have learned to live with it.

I prefer to go by Matt when talking with friends and relatives, while teachers and other people I look up to with respect would call include the “hew”. Many times, I prefer Matt because it sounds less girly and childish, but I guess that depends on how Matthew is pronounced.

I love my name. It isn’t overbearing or trying to be interesting. It is terribly common but at least I don’t get made fun of for having a ridicolous first name like these:

Taken from a HuffPost article inspired by a Reddit post (if anything on Reddit is to be taken seriously)

1. Obamaniqua

2. I’munique (as in, ‘I am unique’)

3. Boy Boy

4. Hellzel (dad liked Hell’s Angels and mum liked name Hazel)

5. Abstinence

6. Britney Shakira Beyonce (mum was a pop fan, obvs!)

7. Vejonica (combining Veronica and John)

8. Gennah Tyles (think about it)

9. Mazen (short for Amazing!)

10. Like (as in Facebook Like)

I could have been named anything, could have been named George (after my grandfather) or John (after my mom’s dad), but my mom insisted, as she has told me before, on the Gospel name. I was the first child in the family so I do feel a specialness and desire to be the best. I believe I was set up for success in later life, and so far I believe that still stands true. If I were given any other name, I wonder what I’d be doing now. Names are said to have an effect on your success and what career you choose so I wonder if I’d have become a doctor or lawyer if I were named something else.

Say Your Name

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

5 thoughts on “Pick A Name, Any Name”

  1. 🙂 I started to read and then thought – hey, that is exactly how I would have started it! 😀
    a great reflection! 🙂

    1. I think adding a quote at the beginning is a nice way to start things off. You can be named anything and will still be the same person inside and out. A tree could be called a car and it would still function the same way.

All thoughts are welcome

