Froyo and More – A to Z Foods

 

The Android froyo on Google's campus
Source: Travis Wise, CC By 2.0, via Flickr 

I absolutely love the names Google gives to versions of their Android operating system. It sure is a lot better than the bland version numbers that they receive. Every phone has a personality just by looking at the name and you instantly feel a connection (if that sounds weird).

Now, I haven’t had a whole lot of experience with Android (only having had one phone that got lost or stolen, I don’t know which), but I have to say that the phones are a lot more friendly and customizable than the iPhone at first glance, though I’ve never owned an iPhone so I can’t be sure. There are many different companies offering Android phones at reasonable prices, while iPhone is just by Apple and can be very expensive.

Every Google Android version, from unnamed to the next delicious dessert:

Android 1.o, 1.1
Android 1.5 Cupcake
Android 1.6 Donut
Android 2.0, 2.1 Eclair
Android 2.2 Froyo – the first version that I bought in 2011, during the hype and rise of smartphones and tablets everywhere by nearly every major tech company.
Android 2.3, 2.4 Gingerbread
Android 3.0, 3.1, 3.2 Honeycomb
Android 4.0 Icecream Sandwich
Android 4.1 Jellybean
Android 4.4 KitKat
Android 5.x Lollipop
Android 6.x Marshmallow

What’s the next version going to be called? I’m predicting Hot Fudge or maybe even Chocolate Chip. It’s codenamed N for now. At least Google has a sense of humor.

I could really use a new smartphone. The screen on mine is busted and I’ve had it since 2013. I look back to the days when I was absolutely eager to buy a new phone, looking online and searching for the best deal. It was always a joy to receive it in the mail, unboxing it and instantly feeling like one of the cool kids, being able to upgrade from the out of style flipphone. Now, it’s not really that big of a deal anymore because I’ve grown up and the technology is not new anymore, but during my walks to college, listening to music from Pandora on my phone instantly made me feel great.

Nostalgia. It’s hard to shake it off.

A to Z Challenge 2016

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

All thoughts are welcome

