Rockstar Blogging 101

It’s time to reassess my blogging skills. I feel like I’ve been getting sloppy as of late.

I have just realized this past month how my outlook of blogging has changed. It is no longer just an on and off hobby of mine. I realize now that if I am going to become very successful at this, I am going to have to stop messing around and really start following some consistent blogging patterns. I’m getting super complacent on several key blogging techniques. There are some things I have been doing and not doing that have hindered me from getting really good at this game and I feel so stupid for letting those habits get to me.

Number one:

Neglecting to check my stats everyday. This has become more and more important as time has gone on, but I continue to throw caution to the wind and not keep up with how many people are visiting my page, or how many likes and comments my recent posts got. I don’t want to become too buried in the numbers because they will rule my life and I don’t want to run this like a business.

Number two:

Not commenting enough. This year I have probably only commented a couple of times. The social engagement needs to improve. I have a habit of letting my introverted side get the best of me and this carries over into cyberspace. I don’t always feel like commenting and when I have found that this is a general “rule” of blogging, like you’re supposed to be doing it more often no matter if you don’t feel like it on some days, well, I am like “the heck with that. I’ll do it when I feel pleased.”

Number three:

Putting up crappy, worthless posts. Yeah, we’ve all got to have some of them. I’ve got my fair share. I could have one post that performs really well and another that totally falls flat. It’s this troubling experience of mine that stints my blogging growth. I don’t nearly receive as many comments as other bloggers do but I rest my case that with a little more effort I could improve.

Number four:

Not focusing more. I feel like I am always all over the place.

Number five:

That always creeping doubt in my mind that I don’t have what it takes to truly survive in this blogging world. That I won’t succeed in the long run. It’s been happening more and more where I feel like maybe I should seek other passions because this one is becoming a lifelong obsession, which I never wanted it to be but it seems as if that’s the only way to go now. I can’t stop posting everyday because I have developed an OCD with this, and as I continue going down the rabbit hole, I see there is no escape. This is my life now and it will never be the same again. It makes me quite unhappy that as I continue to do this, life around me continues to be pretty much the same. Same house, same people, same jobless situation. I wake up in the morning and nothing has changed. I really need to find myself a girlfriend who’s interested in the stuff I’ve interested in. Writing and other computer related activities. A nerdy girl. That was always my dream.

Number six:

Knowing who my competition is. There is a ton of competition in the blogosphere and it is getting more and more competitive everyday, with the real threats sticking around and all of the non-contenders pretty much throwing in the towel. With all of these podcasts, radio shows, ebooks and guest posts popping up, I feel as if what I’ve been doing so far is no longer enough. That I am going to have to step up my game or risk being left in the dust (which wouldn’t be that bad because I wouldn’t have the pressure on me to succeed). I’m not sure if I will ever make any money off of this (I have read about the process in doing so, setting up ads, etc.) but I’m perfectly happy with this carefree blogging style right now.

A couple years back, I would have never thought blogging would ever still be this popular (I thought it was a lost art to video) or if it would have any significant impact on me and everyone else. But, of course I was dead wrong. It is alive and well in 2016 and is going to new and better heights. I feel proud to be apart of this wonderful place and really hope for the best from me down the road. Where the road eventually leads me, I can only wonder. My eyes have been opened. I am a better thinker because of blogging. I may consider myself a true nerd now. This may be my true calling in life. I kind of always knew I was meant for writing when I was little – I liked to be by myself and enjoyed reading books by myself. I had a dream of writing a book one day, even attempting it a couple times with no success. There was my Harry Potter knock-off, my Planet of the Apes knock-off, and my story about all these people with strange powers that somehow come together to save the world (unintentional Heroes knock-off). These ideas fizzled and died.

Author: Macbofisbil

Welcome to "Macbofisbil: An Awesome Mind", a place where you will find all sorts of interesting stories, pictures, and advice on life in general.

All thoughts are welcome

